The first official symphony concert was held on March 2, 1945 in The Częstochowa City Theatre. The orchestra soon became independent and got the first seat on the Dabrowski 16 St., which was used by Orchestra for 20 years.
Since 1954, efforts have been made for the construction of a concert hall. Their result is a building in which they Philharmonic staff has been working until now (30% of the costs of arisen buiding is taken from inhabitant's contribution). A construction of Philharmonic Hall is a great merit of the long-term director of the orchestra- Dionizy Krzepczak. In September 1965 the orchestra moved to its new seat on Konkielów Street (today: Wilson's) named as The House of Culture "Philharmonic".
Since then, to the Częstochowa have come renowned conductors and soloists, there were also foreign groups performances such as: Lausanne Chamber Orchestra, Moscow Symphony Orchestra. Apart from traditional forms of symphonic chamber and school concerts, the orchestra has become a host and organizer of the three festivals: Polish Violin Festival, Jeunesses Musicales National Festival "Pro Musica" and the Youth Music Festival. The first two for many years were continued.
On the Philharmonic director positions came into existence the renowned conductors such as: prof. Krzysztof Missona, Zygmunt Szczepański. Since 1972, the position of Director of the National Symphony Orchestra took for 14 years Zygmunt Hass. He was next to Leon Jelonka, the longest working director with the orchestra.
After creating the province of Częstochowa, in 1976, the orchestra gained the rank of Philharmonic. From that moment a number of concerts has increased, and also diversified their forms, covering all musical genres, from oratorio and cantata through the symphony, popular and entertaining to chamber concerts and recitals. There have appeared also instrumental chamber ensembles composed of the Orchestra musicians. A very numerous part of the events constituted concerts for children and young people, both symphonic and chamber music that took place not only at the enssembly's seat, but also in many places in the region. For the youngest were also organized the Sunday "Happy Musical Mornings", in 2006, resumed as the "Sunday Symphonic Mornings ".
The orchestra has performed in many places in the country, taking part in numerous festivals. It has also made first foreign travels to Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Italy, France and Germany.
In 1984 It was brought to life a new festival - "Ars Chori", which has its place in 1991, at a time when the function of Chief Executive held Ireneusz Kozera (1986-1992), took the International Festival of Sacred Music "Gaude Mater". Later on the organization of this project took the OPK „Gaude Mater”.
Since 1990. the artistic director and chief executive took Jerzy Kosek. It Has increased for the first time the number of Orchestra up to 74 people and instrumentalists proved their identity of a higher musical education.

In 1996, the director of The Philharmonic became Leszek F. Hadrian. In 1998, the position of artistic director took Jerzy Swoboda. In September 2005 thanks to Leszek F. Hadrian there were established: the Bronislaw Huberman Violin Festival and the Częstochowa Guitar Meetings. Within the expansion and making attractive a repertoire offer, from January 1998 to December 2002 it worked By Częstochowska Philharmonic the Opera and Operetta Stage- within which took place following premieres i.a.: the G. Donizetti's "Don Pasquale",the St. Moniuszko "The Haunted Manor" and "Petticoat", the W. A. Mozart's "The Marriage of Figaro".However, in April 2001 under the name Stage Experiment was the premiere of "Miss Julie" by A. Strindberg, which were combined two kinds of art: theater and music.
The Częstochowa Philharmonic was also a co-organizer of the International Song Festival "May Small Score" as well as a organizer of the Festival of Traditional Jazz, whose first edition was held in May 2002 - I-st Hot Jazz Spring Częstochowa'2002.
Thanks to Mrs. director Beata Młynarczyk (her position is held since 2006) in the Częstochowa Philharmonic came into existence a new educational project "School on Parnassus"and on the initiative of the Director Jerzy Salwarowski (the artistic director since September 2005) in Częstochowa has emerged the Conducting Course.
In 2008, The Częstochowa Philharmonic actively joined in restoring the memory of siblings famous all over the world in the XIX century of singers whose destiny was associated with our region, by organizing Vocal Competition named after Jan, Edward and Józefina Reszka.
Apart from animated activities in their own seat, The orchestra is involved in numerous festivals as well as performs hospitably both in Poland and abroad, including Italy, Spain, Austria, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden and South Korea.
the orchestra of Częstochowa Philharmonic often provide the musical setting to such events as : Mariological Congress (1990r.), World Congree of Medical Polish community (1991r.), World Youth Day with the participation of Pope John Paul II (1991r.).
The orchestra has made ​​numerous CD recordings and recordings for Polish Radio and TV.
In recent years, the Orchestra performed with renowned conductors as well as with the most prominent Polish soloists and many foreign performers. There were such conductors as: Tomasz Bugaj, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Marek Pijarowski, Jerzy Salwarowski, Tadeusz Strugała, Karol Stryja, Stanisław Gałoński, Luciano Acocella (Italy), Zelman Boxer (USA), Vladyslav Czarnecki (Germany), Cindy Egolf (USA), Volker Hempfiling (Germany), Michi Hayashi (Japan), Vladimir Kiradjiev (Bulgaria), Olaf Koch (Germany), Arild Remmeril (Norway), Makoto Suehiro (Japan), Joel Zuben (USA), Tsung Yeh (USA), Torsten Ostergen (Sweden), Georg Mais (Germany), Tilo Lehmann (Germany), Antoine Mitchell (Great Britain), Volker Schmidt-Gertenbach (Germany); vocalists: Stefania Toczyska, Grażyna Brodzińska, Zofia Kilanowicz, Wiesław Ochman, Ewa Podleś, Bogdan Paprocki, Krzysztof Szmyt, Bogusław Morka, Adam Zdunikowski, Kazimierz Kowalski, Dariusz Stachura; instrumentaliści: Vadim Brodski, Kaja Danczowska, Krzysztof Jakowicz, Konstanty Andrzej Kulka, Tomasz Strahl, Michał Urbaniak, Wanda Wiłkomirska, Piotr Pławner, Kevin Kenner (USA), Janusz Olejniczak, Piotr Paleczny, Krystian Zimmerman, Waldemar Malicki, Jadwiga Rappe, Krzysztof Jabłoński, Eric i Marc Franceries (France), Barbara Górzyńska, Andrzej Bauer, Menahem Breuer (Israel), Pablo de la Cruz (Spain), Christian Wetzel (Spain).